Writing and healing: Prompts to get you going for the year

Icess
3 min readJan 12, 2022

There is a close correlation between writing and healing. Let’s get writing

What’s the best thing to do when you’re in pain?

In my experience food was always my go to to help sooth the pain. But there is an issue with using food as a crutch, almost a narcotic, to help the pain go away. The issue: you create whole new problems.

In 2021, I started the year with the doctor saying that not only did I need to lose weight but that my health, including my mental health, was impacted by the weight I carried. Yes, the physical and metaphorical weight.

So I spent the year running. Great runs. Bad runs. Runs where my anxiety knocked me off my feet. Runs where I gave my anxiety a one two punch.

My relationship with food began to change. Food = fuel now.

But that didn’t mean that all the pain, anxiety, and depression went away.

I would say that 2021 gave me less depressive lows but stronger lows. When I was low, I was really low. When I was in pain, my brain inflicted a double dose of it.

What helped me, along with other things, was when I returned to my writing.

So in this first year of my independent creative-ness (I made that a word), I’ve put together a new book of writing prompts, From the Beginning: More Prompt to get you Started.

I’m excited about this book of prompts because not only does it have some of my favorite prompts but it also has some new ones that will have you thinking about what you’re writing in a new way.

Listen, you don’t have to be a writer to use this book. You just have to have an imagination — what would it look like if your trauma was a different shape, if you could manipulate it on the page, if you could take control of it in a different way that wasn’t also a way of self-harming?

That’s what I’m offering here in this book. And it’s free because I’m not keeping this from anyone who needs it.

To grab a copy, you’ll need to sign up for my newsletter and you’ll get an email with a link to the book.

I hope you get the book and get to writing. Remember, it doesn’t need to be perfect, it just needs to be you!

Let me know how the prompts are working out for you. I’m interested in what you create and how I can help make it something of which you’d be proud!

Join the Newsletter

Thanks so much for reading! I so appreciate it!

I want to let you know that I have a newsletter (this is separate from the Medium sign-up below) that I sent out occasionally. As I restart my writing career, it’d be so amazing to have your support.

In the newsletter I talk about my writing journey and highlight some writing resources.

The best way to support my writing right now is to sign up for my newsletter to join my writing journey. Click on this link to do so.

Of course, you’re under no obligation to do so and you’re still welcome to read my writing if you choose not to. However, this small gesture shows that you’re cheering me on on my writing journey!

--

--

Icess

Writer, Daughter of immigrants. Caregiver. Writing teacher. Afro-Latina. Mental Health informer. Runner.